Djokovic wins as Serbia reaches Davis Cup quarterfinals

Serbia's Novak Djokovic serves to France's Benoit Paire during their Davis Cup tennis match in Madrid Thursday. (AP)
Updated 22 November 2019

Djokovic wins as Serbia reaches Davis Cup quarterfinals

  • The result gave Serbia an insurmountable 2-0 lead over the French before the doubles match

MADRID: Novak Djokovic defeated Benoit Paire 6-3, 6-3 to seal Serbia’s victory over top-ranked France in the Davis Cup Finals on Thursday.

The result gave Serbia an insurmountable 2-0 lead over the French before the doubles match. Filip Krajinovic had defeated Jo-Wilfried Tsonga 7-5, 7-6 (5) in the first singles to mathematically secure Serbia in the last eight of the revamped
team competition.

Djokovic had a break in the first set and two in the second to clinch his 14th straight Davis Cup
singles victory.

“I made some crucial breaks at the right time in both sets,” Djokovic said. “It’s tough to play Benoit, he is a very talented guy, very unpredictable.”

Serbia secured first place in Group A by winning every tie without dropping a set.

Group winners advance to the knockout stage along with the two best second-place finishers among the six groups.

Britain and Kazakhstan were 1-1 after Kyle Edmund defeated Mikhail Kukushkin 6-3, 6-3 and Alexander Bublik evened the match for Kazakhstan by beating Daniel Evans 5-7, 6-4, 6-1.

The winner will clinch a place in the last eight as the first-placed team in Group E.

Britain were not playing Andy Murray, who on Wednesday came from behind to win his match against Tallon Griekspoor in
three sets.

In Group C, Germany were leading Chile 1-0 after Phillip Kohlschreiber defeated Nicolas Jarry 6-4, 6-3.

Sri Lanka win toss in first Test in Pakistan since 2009 attack

Updated 11 December 2019

Sri Lanka win toss in first Test in Pakistan since 2009 attack

  • Foreign teams have been refusing to tour Pakistan since attack on the Lankan team a decade ago
  • Security has improved in Pakistan over the years

RAWALPINDI, Pakistan: Sri Lanka skipper Dimuth Karunaratne won the toss and decided to bat on Wednesday in the first Test in Pakistan since a deadly attack on the Sri Lankan team a decade ago.
Sri Lanka have embarked on the first Test tour of Pakistan since the gun-and-rocket attack in March 2009 killed eight people and wounded players and officials, plunging Pakistan into sporting isolation.
With foreign teams refusing to tour, Pakistan have since played their ‘home’ fixtures in the United Arab Emirates, meaning all of their current team are now playing their first Test on home soil.
However, as security has improved, Pakistan has gradually revived international cricket with limited-overs matches against Zimbabwe, World XI, the West Indies and Sri Lanka over the last four years.
Pakistan entered the Test with a four-man pace attack, giving Test debuts to opener Abid Ali and left-arm fast bowler Usman Shinwari.
Sri Lanka have also included three fast bowlers, with Dilruwan Perera the lone spinner.

Pakistan: Azhar Ali (captain), Abid Ali, Asad Shafiq, Babar Azam, Haris Sohail, Mohammad Abbas, Mohammad Rizwan, Naseem Shah, Shaheen Shah, Shan Masood, Usman Shinwari
Sri Lanka: Dimuth Karunaratne (capt), Oshada Fernando, Kusal Mendis, Angelo Mathews, Dinesh Chandimal, Dhananjaya de Silva, Niroshan Dickwella, Dilruwan Perera, Lahiru Kumara, Vishwa Fernando, Kasun Rajitha
Umpires: Michael Gough (ENG), Richard Kettleborough (ENG)
TV umpire: Richard Illingworth (ENG)
Match referee: Andy Pycroft (ZIM)